Welcome to TimeCamp Help!

Users and groups


In the Users tab, in the menu on the left side, you can manage your coworkers’ accounts. You can invite new users, set their roles on the account, and define special tracking permissions.

Only the Administrator of the account has access to the Users tab and can manage users.


Invite Users

 To invite a new user navigate to the Users tab on the left side menu and click on the green button + Invite people.

If you use one of our paid plans before you invite your coworkers make sure that you have enough seats. To check that go to your subscription page and add licenses if needed.


You can invite people in 3 ways, depending on your needs:

  • manually enter email addresses in the empty fields

  • create an invitation link and send it to your colleagues

  • invite multiple users at once (import CSV file with addresses of your team)


Invited users must accept the invitation sent to their email address to become a part of your team on the account. 

If for some reason user didn't accept the invitation or deleted the email you can resend the invitation using the envelope icon.

Take a look at our Getting Started Guide to learn more about inviting new users.


Manage users

After new users accepted the invitation you can change their account and project roles and adjust tracking permissions.

We provide 3 different account roles that may help to organize the team's structure and define tracking permissions. You can choose between 3 user classes:

  • administrator
  •  supervisor
  • user

Here you can learn more about each available role and tracking permissions.


To change the role simply click on the current role next to the user's name and choose a new one from the drop-down menu.


To get to the profile setting of each user click on their name on the list and you'll be redirected to the detailed information about their profiles, such as name, email address, email notifications, and time tracking permissions.


In the profile settings, you can also change the password to the user’s account. If you would like to use this option, first enter your own Admin password and next enter a new user's password and confirm this new password.


Groups management

TimeCamp allows you to recreate your company’s structure. Groups are extremely helpful if you have many users or need different settings for each group of people, e.g. different default workday length, different hourly billing rates, or other time-tracking rules.

To create a group or a department simply click on the Create group button next to the "Invite people" option and enter the name of the new group. Next, define the parent group of this group and save your changes.


After creating groups and subgroups you can invite new users directly to these groups by adjusting it in the invitation window or you can also move users between groups at any time.  


To move users between groups in the Users section simply use the drag-drop method. 

You can also move multiple users at once, by clicking on the checkboxes next to their names and choosing the Move selected option from the Bulk edit menu. Next, select a new group and save the changes.

 


By default, new groups inherit settings from parent groups. You can create as many groups down the structure tree as you wish, but keep in mind that there can only be one main group.

To change settings for a particular group simply go to the Account Settings under your avatar in the upper-right corner and select the desired group from the picker.


The other option is to click on the edit option next to the desired group in the Users section. You'll be redirected to the General settings of this group where you can change its name, time format, etc. Here you can also navigate to other groups of settings and use a group picker to adjust other settings.


Don't forget to Save changes after editing settings for a particular group. If you immediately select another group from the picker changes won't be saved.