Welcome to TimeCamp Help!

Computer time basics


TimeCamp is a time-tracking system with multiple features that allow you to monitor computer activity. After adjusting the settings application can not only monitor your time but also register names of visited websites and apps and how much time you spent working on them.

Computer time reports are available only in Basic and Pro plans.

To track computer time and activities a TimeCamp desktop app should be installed on your computer.


What information is available in the Computer time reports?

In the Computer time reports you can check how much away time was registered, e.g when you were on a break or were doing offline work, check what activities were registered, and define their categories. 

Various types of computer time reports also allow you to compare the efficiency of your work, define goals and check app statistics such as the last synchronization time or the number of loggings.

Keep in mind that in the background desktop app tracks only computer time and activities. For tracking time to projects and tasks, you should use manual or automatic time tracking mode.

The computer time feature will allow you to define the specific timeframes during the workday when activities should be tracked, and decide if the application should track only the computer time or both the computer time and activities. Also, you can set up the amount of private time for users and add the away time activity.

Administrators and Supervisors are able to view registered activities for users who they manage.


Computer time settings

Here you can find the description of some settings that can help to organize your work and define time-tracking rules. Click on your avatar n the upper-right corner and select the Account Settings option. You'll be redirected to the General tab where you can use the shortcut to get to the Computer time settings.


  • Track computer activity - the desktop app will track computer time (turn on/off times, usage, the away time).

  • Track only computer activities when a timer for task is running - the desktop app will register computer time and activities only when you start a timer for a task. If the timer is not running, no activities and computer usage will be registered.

  • Track window titles - the desktop app will register the names of all websites and applications you visit while working.

  • Allow for closing the desktop application - this setting will allow users to close the desktop app without requesting an Administrator's password. If this option is disabled, users have to enter the Administrator's password to close the TimeCamp desktop app.

  • Allow users to delete time registered by desktop application - if this option is enabled users will be able to delete their registered activities. if the option is disabled only the Administrator of the account will be able to remove activities.

  • Stop tracking when computer is unused for -  if the computer is unused for a certain time, e.g. 5 minutes, the desktop app will stop recording time and activities. This time will be added as the away time.


  • Track time in specific hours - define working hours when the desktop app should track computer time and activities. The application will not register any data before or after the defined hours.

  • Allow users to log overtime activities - allows users to track computer time before and after timeframes defined in the Track time in specific hours table. Users will be able to choose a "Log overtime" option in the desktop app menu if they are working beyond predefined hours.

  • Stop tracking time, when daily hours limit is reached - define the number of hours users can track each day. For example, if you set the limit of 8 hours on Monday and the user started work at 8 am the desktop app will stop tracking computer time and activities after 4 pm. If you keep this setting unchanged no limit will be set.


  • Dismiss computer activities overlapping other computer activities that are already logged - if you installed the TimeCamp desktop app on multiple devices and work on them at the same time this setting won't allow overlapping activities. Additionally, it prevents adding offline activities (away time) over the already logged computer activities.
  • When starting, keep tracking to the last task - if enabled, the desktop app will automatically start tracking time to the previously selected task after your turn on your computer or return from the break.


  • Keep all computer usage tracking information entirely private and not shared with anyone besides the user that tracked that time - if enabled each user will have access only to their own tracked time. Administrators and Supervisors won't be able to view time tracked by users they manage. All activities will be entirely private.


  • Choose a task, when desktop application can not match any keyword - this setting refers to the automatic time tracking mode. If application can't match any keyword, the desktop app will show a new window where you can manually assign a task.
  • Switch to "no task" when desktop application can not match any keyword for - this setting refers to the automatic time tracking mode. If the setting is enabled and application will switch to "no task" and stop tracking time if can't match any keyword after the customized time.


To learn more about the away time settings please visit this article.